Environmental Excellence Awards

Every year at ATCEM we present four Environmental Excellence Awards to recognize the hard work performed everyday for preserving our environment for future generations. This year, we will recognize the many faces of Environmental Excellence in Alaska for the following categories:  
  • Rising Star Award:  awarded to an individual who is just getting started in the tribal environmental field, but shows great promise to be an up and coming environmental leader in their community.
  • Environmental Leader Award: awarded to an established tribal environmental professional who demonstrates outstanding motivation and leadership with environmental projects in their community.
  •  Lifetime Achievement: awarded to an individual who has made long-lasting environmental contributions that improve environmental health in their community over the course of many years. This individual is a true inspiration and deserving the highest honor.
  • Helping Hands Award: awarded to an individual, team, or organization that has provided exceptional services to support environmental projects in tribal communities.
  • Community/Group Award: awarded to a group or a team that has demonstrated outstanding environmental leadership in their community and has worked together to improve their local environment.
    ** All nominations will be reviewed by an anonymous selection committee.**
    Awards will be presented during the Environmental Excellence Awards Luncheon during the conference  

    How to Submit a Nomination 


    Previous Award Recipients

    2017 ATCEM Award Winners

              • Community / Group - Chalkyitsik Village
              • New Environmental Professional - Luis Echnique, Louden Tribe
              • Dr. James Berner Award for Children's Health – Dr. Rosalyn Singleton
              • Walter Porter Lifetime Achievement - Ted Jacobson, RurAL CAP

    2016 ATCEM Award Winners

              • Community / Group - Ya Ne Dah Ah Tribal School, Chickaloon Village
              • New Environmental Professional - Brian Wright, Environmental Coordinator, Huslia Tribal Council
              • Outstanding Individual – Opik Ahkinga, Environmental Coordinator, Native Village of Diomede
              • Walter Porter Lifetime Achievement -  Tina Tinker, Environmental Coordinator, Aleknagik Traditional Council

    2015 ATCEM Award Winners

              • Community - Prince ofr Wales Tribal Environmental Coalition
              • New Environmental Professional - Johnathan Henzie, Environmental Coordiantor, Allakaket
              • Individual Award- Stephen Price, ADEC Solid Waste Division
              • Walter Porter Lifetime Achievement – Michael Brubaker, ANTHC

    2014 ATCEM Award Winners

              • Community - Native Village of Galena
              • Team - Seldovia Village Tribe - Environmental Program
              • New Environmental Professional - Jerilyn Kelly, Environmental Coordinator, Kwinhagak IRA
              • Individual Award - Jeanine Heakin, Environmental Coordinator, Native Village of Eek
              • Walter Porter Lifetime Achievement - Cynthia Paniyak, Environmental Coordinator, Chevak Native Village